• font sizeA
  • A
  • A


Dennis County is a regional hub for the Financial sector in Western Manitoba with the Town of Virden as the major financial centre for Dennis County. Three of the six major Canadian banking institutions (CIBC, RBC, Scotia) have locations in Virden as do independent insurance and financial consulting firms such as Andrew Agencies and MNP. In addition, there are two credit unions that operate in Dennis County, Sunrise (Virden, Reston) and Vanguard (Kenton). 

The financial sector in Dennis County primarily serves the local population and finds its strength in the region’s economic diversification; whether it’s serving those working in oil and gas, agriculture, or retail, the financial sector is always busy in Dennis County

Manitoba is home to a highly diversified financial services sector including firms that are leaders in property and casualty insurance, life insurance, mutual funds, wealth management, and leasing. The sector is supported by a highly skilled workforce of over 25,000 people, and world-class systems for information technology and communications. 

Major financial and insurance firms that are headquartered in Manitoba include:
  • Great-West Lifeco Inc. (Canada’s largest insurer);
  • IGM Financial Inc. (Canada’s largest mutual fund distributor);
  • Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company;
  • Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation (two of Canada’s largest property and casualty insurers).

Dennis County & Area, Major Employers in Finance

 Company  Location Activities  
 SunRise Credit Union Ltd.  Virden and Reston  Banking  
 Andrew Agencies Ltd.   Virden and Reston   Insurance
 VCU Financial Group Inc.   Virden  Insurance 
 BDO  Virden  Financial Consulting 
 RBC  Entire Region   Banking
 Scotia Bank   Virden  Banking 
 CIBC   Virden and Elkhorn  Banking 
 MNP  Entire Region   Financial Consulting
 Farm Credit Canada  Virden   Financial Services 
 Vanguard Credit Union   Kenton  Banking